Pork Chops for Benicio Del Toro

Standard

IMG_0151Tonight (Oct. 10, 2013), I covered as a journalist a very interesting, not related to food, film industry conference.  

Benicio del Toro, Puerto Rican actor, was the guest speaker at the CODECU forum. A few hours  passed, three to be exact and it finally came to an end.

Almost everyone (including me) gathered around him. I knew a photo wasn’t going to be enough, I needed my exclusive, so I asked him, “What’s your favorite food?”

He looked at me, smiled and said without hesitation “Chuletas fritas, tostones y arroz” . This translates to fried pork chops, fried green plantains and rice; a staple -once a week- dish in a lot of Puerto Rican households. 

Benicio also told me that when he is away and in need of a Puerto Rican food fix, the staff at “La tasa de oro” in New York, know exactly what to serve him.

6 thoughts on “Pork Chops for Benicio Del Toro

  1. nicola

    Taty you are my hero, you are sooo lucky, he is a great actor, was he a nice guy?? so proud of you, you have always been a foody and I’m so glad you have put your passion to good use for all of us, I need to test out all of these delicious things you tell us about, keep up the good work. love u xxx

Leave a Reply

